Rebecca Saxe @ mit

Stumbleupon picked up a video clip from Ape Genius for me. It is about Bonobos and theory of mind, in which, as always, a few experts talk about their studies and discoveries. Among them is Rebecca Saxe, an assistant professor from MIT.
 

I have read a few of her papers before, but I did not expect her to be so young and pretty, and with a funny but lovely British accent. Gosh, she is only 28! From her CV, I got to know that she entered collage at 1997 (the year I graduate from college), and got a Ph.D. from MIT in 2003, then she taught in Harvard for 3 years, and then came back to MIT and had her own Saxe lab.

Well, well, this is a common path for many scholars: you go to a top-tier collage, go to a top graduate school, find your first job in a first-tier school, and probably transfer to another school for more funding and higher rank. And of course, you work and publish. And because you are in an elite school, you get more fund, more graduate students, more capable colleagues, and sure you will outperform many contemporaries.

I just don’t know if they ever wonder this is the life they want.

Or I am a little bit jealousy. I wish that I could avoid wasting time in activities not related to academic, such as my previous years in industry and commercial; I wish that English could be my first language or at least I did not have problems to speak English; I wish that I applied for a graduate school better than the current one, and many years earlier; and this and that. Anyway, it’s just a little sad to see people younger than me have acquired big success while I am still lagging on the way.

I guess that is why the time I saw the book titled Too Soon Old, Too Late Smart, I became somewhat sentimental.

But at some point of life, you have to admit that you are just another normal person, and things like this happens to every normal person, that everyone should be surpassed by younger ones. It is damn true.

One Response to “Rebecca Saxe @ mit”

  1. Winton Says:

    too bad. but something need to face who you are. but most important is to look at yourself, finding your speciality. Everyone are different, everyone has it\’s potential on sth. But the big problem is that not eveyone believe on that, and finally, having the same pattern as other.

Leave a Reply

